Life, Story

Chinese Guilt

Trying to clear your mind off stressful circumstances certainly is a healthy thing to do. Stopping by at Maaz’s place (my friend), I thought I could give him some tough time on the new FIFA 13. Well, I drew the first match and lost the second. Not a bad start for a guy playing FIFA 13 only for the first time then, right? But that’s not really why I went to his place. There’s this place at the Fortress stadium called ‘Mei Kong’, where all of my gang was finally going to meet up. Just so you know, my friends are busy with their college work while I’m taking my A’level re-sits. I know it sucks.

But that’s how I planned on clearing my mind. Finding the common ground to brew humour (finally) was definitely something I was looking up to. Except for an actor or a comedian, hanging out with friends is to either make fun of them or have fun made out of yourself – and simply put, this idea is very powerful and beautiful.

So that’s a side of me you haven’t seen yet (I know it’s boring). I’m not writing here just for the sake of writing (I love writing), but because I feel guilty.

The story behind my feeling of guilt is really short, nonetheless, I felt that I wanted to let it out. I wanted to just release it from my system so the whole world (or my modest followers) could read and know.

While waiting on the waiter to serve food, I tried to be a cynic – in an attempt to mock my friend who happens to be a grand master of ‘cynical’ artistry. While doing so, I noticed a boy sitting right across our table, sitting with his family, devouring his chicken drumsticks. The boy looked roughly my age and the way he was eating made him look like a very peaceful, humble child. However, I’m not a good cynic (clearly) and I was too drawn into being evil so that I could mock my friend (I’m terrible at humour too). In the heat of the moment, I thought I whispered the following, but it turned out it wasn’t really a whisper.

“Hey, look at him. I mean that’s a drumstick – you don’t eat it with poking forks and trying to act like a groomed hipster. You eat the way it’s meant to be eaten; by holding the damn stick and taking a bite. DRUMSTICKS, people!”

I tried to laugh after blurting this out in order to complement my assertion. It was successful, as it always is in the case of friends.

But when I finally took some time off to look at the boy once again, he was red and drowning in embarrassment. His hands were now loosely gripping the folk and I could see him watering down.

I didn’t worry too much at that point. I even may have laughed about him getting embarrassed. But when I think of it now, I feel guilt riding on my shoulders. That boy was with his family, eating a nice meal. I might’ve ruined his night that day. These things, albeit small, are sometimes significant and leave a sour taste. So not that it may do any good now, but I want to apologise for my uncalled-for behaviour. I’m genuinely sorry and I won’t do a thing like this ever again.

(I’m too lazy to check my grammatical errors)

Standard

Leave a Reply

